facebook pixel
training   /    May 13th 2021

How to become a Licensed Solar Installer in Nevada

Nevada law requires that solar energy system installers be licensed by the Nevada State Contractors Board.

The state of Nevada also has a reciprocity agreement with California, Arizona, and Utah, but there is no reciprocity for the plumbing and electrical trades.

Licensing - $300

Contractors may be licensed under License Classification C-37 (solar contracting), or perform solar work under License Classification C-1 (plumbing and heating) for solar thermal installations.

Business & Law Exam

Applicants are required to pass both the trade exam and the $199 Management Survey Exam (Business and Law Exam) in order to obtain a license.

Experience & Reference Requirements

Applicants must document a minimum of four (4) years of experience within the past 10 years. This experience must be as a Journeyman, foreman, supervising employee or contractor. Education may be used to satisfy a portion of the required experience.

The Board will accept the following types of documentation in support of your experience.

  • Four (4) Certification of Work Experience Forms (Certificates) for EACH Trade Qualifier; or
  • A current masters certification issued by a governmental agency in a discipline substantially similar to the requested classification; or,
  • Proof of transferrable military experience and training.

Background Check

You must also submit to a background check as part of the application process.

The Board will conduct a background check using information from the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) and the Nevada Criminal History Repository. These records are likely to include all instances of criminal activity, including those matters that may have been sealed, expunged, had the charges reduced or dismissed. If a criminal history is found, an investigation will be conducted and you will be requested to provide supporting documentation.

Applications are not automatically denied because of information obtained through the background disclosure and criminal history verification. When reviewing prior criminal convictions, the NSCB considers such additional factors as the seriousness of the crime, the time that has passed since the conviction and any evidence of rehabilitation the applicant submits. It is your responsibility to provide any supporting documentation requested by the Board related to any past convictions or pending criminal charges.


Contractors in Nevada are required to pay a bond between $1,000 to $500,000 to insure their business.

Generate and Convert Solar Leads

Once you have acquired your solar installation license, use our solar lead generation guide to fill your deal flow.

We also advise using Pylon Solar Design Software to generate proposals in under 2 minutes. It is the only full-features solar design software with no monthly fees. Instead, you only pay $4 per project.

Oseh Mathias

Oseh Mathias

Want more helpful resources?

Get additional documents, guides and tips as they become available